IGiPZ PAN > Badania > Konferencje IGiPZ PAN > Keynote speakers

Keynote speakers



Space of flows


Prof. Vincent Nadin - Department of Urbanism Faculty of Architecture & the Built Environment, Delft University of Technology

Vincent Nadin is a chairman of Department of Urbanism and lead the spatial planning section and research activity there. He is also research director of the joint TU Delft – South China University of Technology Centre for Urban Systems and Environment (USE), and director of the European Masters in Urbanism, a post-master course that provides intensive multinational learning for young professionals. He has led a number of major international comparative research projects which started with the EU Compendium of Spatial Planning Systems and Policies (1997), and he is a joint author with the late Barry Cullingworth of the leading textbook Town and Country Planning in the UK (Routledge), co-author of European Spatial Planning and Territorial Cooperation ( Routledge) and editor-in-chief of the Routledge/Taylor and Francis international peer reviewed journal Planning Practice and Research.


Prof. dr. ir. Arjan van Timmeren - Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Metropolitan Solutions

Arjan van Timmeren is a Scientific Director of Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Metropolitan Solutions. He is a is Professor of Environmental Technology & Design. Since 1997, he has been working as a specialist in sustainable technology for buildings and area development within the Department of Urban Planning in the TU Delft Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment. He completed both his undergraduate and graduate degrees cum laude, in addition to working as a consultant to various architects and engineering firms in the Netherlands, Italy and Spain.



Prof. Michael Woods - Institute of Geography and Earth Sciences Aberystwyth University

Michael Woods joined Aberystwyth University as a Lecturer in Human Geography in 1996, having completed his first degree of the University of Wales, Lampeter, and his PhD at Bristol University, and was appointed as Professor of Human Geography in 2008. His research interests focus on rural geography and political geography and he has led the department's New Political Geographies Research Group between 2004 and 2008 and since 2013. From 2007 to 2014 he was Co-Director of the Wales Rural Observatory, a joint venture with Cardiff University commissioned by the Welsh Government to undertake research to support the Wales Rural Development Programme. Since 2012 he has been Aberystwyth Co-Director of the Wales Institute of Social and Economic Research, Data and Methods (WISERD) and he is also Co-Director of the ESRC WISERD/Civil Society Research Centre established in 2014 and the Aberystwyth representative on the executive of the Public Policy Institute for Wales. His research has been recognized with John Fraser Award for Research Excellence in Rural Geography by the Association of American Geographers in 2010, and he has held Visiting Professor positions at the University of Queensland and the University of Ljubljana.